Swatch Saturdays – On Friday’s We Eat Chocolate

Hi All! This weekend I’m starting a new segment called #SwatchSaturdays on my Instagram. I’m going to be posting the swatch images on Instagram and on the blog I’m going to be giving my real and unbiased opinions on the makeup. I’ve already swatched some gorgeous chocolatey shadows from an assortment of brands. If you follow me on Instagram you saw the picture below without the brand labels. Did you guess the brands correctly; did any of them surprise you?

 

Why?

This weekend I saw people were doing this new challenge called the “hitthepanchallenge”, where they are trying to use up products before buying newer ones. To be honest, I don’t promote trying to use up product just to get rid of it or trying to use it up for pictures but I think it’s an interesting phenomenon. Personally I stock pile it all and will give it away to someone who might like it but everyone is different. I do admire people who are actually trying to get rid of makeup they didn’t like so they aren’t wasting it. For me, it’s interesting to see what people like to use up or haven’t liked and to see what the packaging looks like when it’s been broken in.

When I got home from work I went and sat at my vanity (admiring how filthy it was) and thinking about some of the palettes I haven’t used in over a year. It got me thinking ‘maybe I won’t do that challenge, but what if I start to branch out with some different shadows?’ This led to me swatching some absolutely gorgeous colors, starting with the rich chocolate shades below:

Chocolate Eyeshadow Swatches

What About the Shadows?

One of my favorite brands of makeup is Urban Decay, as you can see in the picture it’s not hard to figure out why. The pigments are beautiful, the shimmer in  “West” is a brilliant gold which is radiant on the skin while “Bewitch” is more of a deep mocha shade but they are both lovely. I was really impressed with the swatch from the ELF Studio Endless Eyes Pro Mini Eyeshadow Palette. The product was really creamy and the consistency was similar to the more expensive counterparts. The CoverGirl brown is from the Coffee Shop quad, I used it for a natural eye this morning which blended extremely well and came out really nice. Unfortunately, when swatching it the color came across really chalky and the satin finish it had in the pan didn’t transfer. Smashbox’s “Bark” had a lot of glitter in it which isn’t really something I prefer but with the right amount of blending it could be really wearable. If you like glitter, it would be the perfect for you.

If you like seeing these kind of posts please let me know if you have a brand, color, texture, product that you would like me to swatch and review please let me know.

-AB

 

Leave a Reply

