Not Giving In

This morning I had to motivate myself to get out of bed. My daughter and husband are both sick and I’ve been sick for a little while now but I am well enough to go to work (and not contagious). My alarm went off several times and each time I turned it off then set another for ten minutes, fifteen minutes, twenty minutes out. This routine started at 5:30 and didn’t end until 7:40. At 7:40, I started telling myself in my head “get up! Get out of this bed!” but it was so hard. It was cold, my husband was snoring all night because he is sick, the baby snoring and making loud sick noises and my being sick kept me up off and on all night. This morning my body was almost at its breaking point of saying “pick another day, this one is not it.”

Then, when I started going through my list of reasons why I should work from home today starting with me being sick and working down to my daughter having pink eye I decided that today wasn’t the day. Today wasn’t the day to go back to sleep. Today wasn’t the day to roll over and let being tired control me. I got up, got ready, got dressed, threw some makeup on and got myself out the door.

It’s so easy to say to yourself that you need to stay home for any number of reasons. It’s easy to focus on the negative and give in to exhaustion. What is difficult is to get up and kick the days butt when you have been up all night. I’ve always thought those people who said that everything is about mindset were idiots. If it is all about your mindset then why don’t I have a positive day when I keep telling myself I need to be positive? This morning I saw what fighting your own desires to reach something greater can do.

I have a to-do list a mile long just like any other working mom does and today I checked off a ton of the work items. I walked on the treadmill desk, didn’t drink soda, had water, ate my lunch I brought from home, did some positive deeds and had an amazing day. I wouldn’t have had that day without making myself get up this morning. I wouldn’t have felt so accomplished if I would have rolled over and gone back to sleep.

I do think that if you are sick or tired you should take care of yourself but I also think that often times I just default to “I’m too tired right now” when I should try switching it up. Instead of drinking cokes all day to keep myself motivated I can drink waters and have a conversation with someone. Instead of getting frustrated with emails, I can give them a call and ask how they are doing. I don’t know if this is going to work but I’m going to give it a try to see if making these little changes can give me more awesome days.

Leave a Reply

